fbpx

Caribeart

Webmagazine about Caribbean Arts. Don’t miss out our news : Sign up

ADVERTISE           CALL FOR SUBMISSION           DONATE ♥︎ 

Haïti

Series: Folk art and decolonial practice with Haitian artist Day Brièrre

Brooklyn-based, Haitian digital artist, Day Brièrre, is fiercely decolonizing the art world through her digital prints, collages, and short animations that celebrate queer, BIPOC communities, and Kreol heritage. Brièrre’s prints and digital collages are sharp, folkloric, and blasting with color. Her activism also takes a participatory approach by offering accessible art education through the independent art platform The Art Hang, which aims “to harness the social power of art in order to decolonize, democratize, and discuss creative fields.” Caribeart has the pleasure to introduce her recent print series.

Come back home. Collage
Cosmic dance. Digital collage

Telepathic sisterhood.
Sending love to all my black sisters (including and especially welcoming my trans sisters)
I see you, I feel you, and I love you.
“I may be a tiny brown speck against the system but I’m not alone in this fight. Being aware of the issue isn’t enough for me anymore. Asking myself what tools do I have in my arsenal to abolish this issue. Wondering if you’re gonna be here for me, stand with me in two months when police brutality is no longer trending.” #blacklivesmatter
Reminiscent of the time I got chased by a pack of wild dogs
Nature, men and the ruthlessness of youth

Follow Day on social media >

✽ Instagram

✽ Website

You liked this article ? Let us know !

TAG :

#Caribeart #CaribbeanArtist #Caribbean#Caribe #DayBrièrre #DigitalArt #HaitianArtist #Collage #Haiti #ContemporaryArt #History #Accessibleart #Decolonialthought #Brooklyn #Print #Lithograph #Haitianhistory #Narratives #Arthistory #VisualArtist #CaribbeanArt #Digital #Diaspora #ContemporaryArtist #EmergingArtists #Aesthetics #Art #Artists #Artist #Digital #Blog #Magazine #Mag #Webmag#Webmag #New#English #Espanol

Recommended Reads
2 Comments
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

fbpx

Caribeart

Webmagazine about Caribbean Arts. Don’t miss out our news : Sign up

ADVERTISE           CALL FOR SUBMISSION           DONATE ♥︎ 

Haïti

Série : Art folklorique et démarche décoloniale avec l’artiste haïtienne Day Brièrre

L’artiste digitale haitienne Day Brièrre, basée à Brooklyn, décolonise férocement le monde de l’art grâce à ses impressions et collages digitaux et ses courtes animations qui célèbrent les communautés queer, BIPOC et l’héritage kreol. Les impressions et les collages numériques de Day Brièrre sont nets, folkloriques et riches en couleurs. Son activisme prend également une approche participative en offrant une éducation artistique accessible par le biais de la plateforme artistique indépendante The Art Hang, qui vise à “exploiter le pouvoir social de l’art afin de décoloniser, démocratiser et discuter des domaines créatifs.” Caribeart a le plaisir de vous présenter sa récente série d’impressions.

Come back home. Collage
Cosmic dance. Digital collage

Telepathic sisterhood.
Sending love to all my black sisters (including and especially welcoming my trans sisters)
I see you, I feel you, and I love you.
“Je suis peut-être une petite tache de couleur marron contre le système, mais je ne suis pas seule dans ce combat. Être conscient du problème ne me suffit plus. Je me demande quels outils j’ai dans mon arsenal pour abolir ce problème. Je me demande si vous serez là pour moi, si vous serez à mes côtés dans deux mois, lorsque la brutalité policière ne sera plus à la mode.” #blacklivesmatter
Reminiscent of the time I got chased by a pack of wild dogs
Nature, men and the ruthlessness of youth

Suivez Day sur les réseaux sociaux >

✽ Instagram

✽ Site

Vous avez aimé cet article ? Faites-le nous savoir !

TAG :

#Caribeart #CaribbeanArtist #Caribbean#Caribe #DayBrièrre #DigitalArt #HaitianArtist #Collage #Haiti #ContemporaryArt #History #Accessibleart #Decolonialthought #Brooklyn #Print #Lithograph #Haitianhistory #Narratives #Arthistory #VisualArtist #CaribbeanArt #Digital #Diaspora #ContemporaryArtist #EmergingArtists #Aesthetics #Art #Artists #Artist #Digital #Blog #Magazine #Mag #Webmag#Webmag #New#English #Espanol

Recommended Reads
Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *